The Ballad of A. P. and Sara

by

You may recall that Bob Kinerk thought my description of A. P. and Sara’s separation, and her subsequent remarriage, sounded like a ballad. Well, now it is a ballad – Bob has written the definitive musical account of the Carter Family’s domestic history, and here it is. Bob is open to suggestions for the melody (are you listening, Dan?) – I suggested that poetic justice would be served if he just stole one from A. P., but I know someone will come up with something.

The Ballad of A.P. and Sara
By Robert Kinerk

CHORUS:

A.P.
A.P.
My wandering boy.
You wander for business.
You squander my joy.
I ain’t gonna take it.
I’m going away.
I’m going away
To Californay
I’m going away with Coy.

Apple trees.
Peach trees.
You sold ‘em when young.
You came to Clinch Mountain
With your silver tongue.
You came to Clinch Mountain
When I was sixteen
And called me the prettiest girl you had seen.

CHORUS;

Words that you
Whispered
Flew straight to my heart.
You said while we’re living
We never would part.
I dreamed on Clinch Mountain
When I was your bride
We’d be two together till both of us died.

CHORUS:

Sing to me,
Darling,
The songs that we love.
The wind in the pine trees.
The sky blue above.
You sung them so sweetly
Till I heard you say
That you had to travel; that you couldn’t stay.

CHORUS:

Apple trees.
Peach trees.
And youngsters to raise.
I waited and waited
For days and for days.
My days were no pleasure.
My nights were no joy.
Then up to Clinch Mountain came handsome, young Coy.

CODA:
I dreamed on Clinch Mountain
When I was your bride
We’d be two together till both of us died.
We’d be two together.
We’d be man and wife.
We’d sing and be happy
The rest of our life.

CHORUS.

2 Responses to “The Ballad of A. P. and Sara”

  1. Judy Uhl Says:

    Marvelous!

  2. Ellie Levine Says:

    Pete and Malvina
    Presented a point of view
    And I listened.

    “Little Boxes”
    Remembered again through Don
    Poignant; timely.

Leave a Reply

